Violent Femmes Release First New Song In 15 Years (VIDEOS)


Violent Femmes new music

We haven’t heard new material from the Violent Femmes since 2000’s Freak Magnet, but the Milwaukee trio has released a new track and announced an upcoming album set for release in April.

The new track is called “Love Love Love Love Love”, which was recorded on New Year’s Eve in Hobart, Tasmania. Who can forget the awesome old tracks like “Blister In The Sun” and my favorite, “Add It Up”.

In 2007, the Femmes were embroiled in inter-band lawsuit after bassist Brian Ritchie sued Gano, saying he did not receive credit for some of the group’s songss.

They reunited and performed festival shows over the past couple years.

Violent Femmes’ most recent album, Freak Magnet, was originally scheduled for a 1998 release, but after Interscope dropped the band, it was held over until February of 2000.

In the 15 years since, the band put together a handful of compilations and added a new member, drummer Brian Viglione.

Here is the new song “Love Love Love Love Love,” an ode to old-fashioned romance that was written by Jake Brebes.

In June and July, Violent Femmes will be touring across America with the Barenaked Ladies, playing venues like Denver’s Red Rocks, New York City’s Pier 97 and Idaho Botanical.

Let’s enjoy a few of our past favorites from the Violent Femmes:

Blister in the Sun

Add It Up: (NSFW offensive language):

Click thumbnails for larger pictures

Images: PR


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here